Just a quick soapbox on abortion

I am continually amazed at our nation and its completely ignorant and self-absorbed view on abortion. I shouldn’t be surprised that, those who don’t believe there is a loving and just God, can’t get a clue. But sometimes I still am.  I get the disagreement on healthcare and poverty and war and big/little government, etc., etc. (ad nauseam!).  But LIFE?  REALLY?  A completely helpless, totally dependent human being?  I have to be careful with this topic, because it is the only political issue that really lights a fire in me.  I have my strong opinions on poverty as well (as Jesus spoke much about it), but for some reason abortion ignites passion in me… probably because, though the poor are desperate, these small humans are HELPLESS.  It probably doesn’t help that I saw the growth of my own son in the womb.  I sometimes lay in bed toiling over this and can easily be led to tears.  I shed tears for the mothers who choose this path, because I know they will battle deep loss and regret for the rest of their lives (though my hope is that they find the forgiveness and peace that God offers).  I shed tears over the fact that I feel completely helpless myself, only one tiny person unable to do much to make a dent.

But last night I thought about those who use abortion as a money-making scheme. My only solace regarding these people is that God will have vengeance.  Sounds harsh, I know, but I believe it is righteous anger.   The most common passage of scripture I hear regarding vengeance is Romans 12 – “Never pay back evil for evil to anyone.  Respect what is right in the sight of all men.  If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with all men.  Never take your own revenge, beloved, but leave room for the wrath of God, for it is written, ‘vengeance is Mine, I will repay,’ says the Lord… Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good” (verses 17-21).  This passage solidifies the fact that we, as Christ-followers, are NOT to take vengeance on abortion clinics and those involved.  We are to be peaceable and let God take vengeance.  Our only weapon is prayer.

I have peace remembering this Romans passage.  This morning, though, I read another passage that sets my mind at ease.  Before Moses’ death, he spoke to the Levites, knowing they would live corruptly even following his death (I recommend you go back and read the whole passage) –

“For I proclaim the name of the LORD; ascribe greatness to our God!  The Rock!  His work is perfect, for all His ways are just; a God of faithfulness and without injustice, righteous and upright is He. They have acted corruptly toward Him, they are not His children, because of their defect; but are a perverse and crooked generation.  Do you thus repay the LORD, O foolish and unwise people?  Is not He your Father who has bought you?  He has made you and established you… But Israel grew fat and kicked – you are grown fat, thick, and sleek – then he forsook God who made him, and scorned the Rock of his salvation.  They made Him jealous with strange gods; with abominations they provoked Him to anger… You neglected the Rock who begot you, and forgot the God who gave you birth… Then He said, ‘I will hide My face from them, I will see what their end shall be; for they are a perverse generation, sons in whom is no faithfulness.  They have made me jealous with what is not God; they have provoked Me to anger with their idols… Vengeance is mine, and retribution, in due time their foot will slip; for the day of their calamity is near, and the impending things are hastening upon them.’ For the LORD will vindicate His people, and will have compassion on His servants… ‘See now that I, I am He, and there is no god besides Me; It is I who put to death and give life.  I have wounded, and it is I who heal; And there is no one who can deliver from My hand'” (Deut. 32).

Now, do not put words in my mouth.  I am not of the belief that the United States is a present-day chosen nation and God will soon have retribution on us.  Israel is God’s chosen nation.  There is no word from God that we are a chosen nation – we have never been and we are not now.  I am looking at this passage simply to remind myself that God has vengeance on those who do evil.  He is the one who gives and takes away.  If someone chooses to end a life that God has created (in any manner), He will have the last word and retribution WILL be paid.

Our Lord is the giver of life.  Shame and vengeance on those who take it away… all in due time.

2 thoughts on “Just a quick soapbox on abortion

  1. Sharon says:

    Well said! Would love for you to pray with me for “Natalie”. She was my client last week and is seriously considering abortion. We talked at length about adoption which she seems open and said she would seriously consider. I’ll keep you posted.
    Would love a play date after the holidays with the posse littles…maybe i’ll organize that!

  2. michelle says:

    What kills me is that women have abortions because they do not want to have a baby….how can you say that what you are kicking out of your body is NOT a baby if you are doing it for the purpose of not having a baby? A little common sense! But people want to be numb to the decisions that they make. Yes, we definitely need to pray!

Leave a Reply

