One (of many) reasons I love Whole Foods Market

Jason & I got to shop at Whole Foods Market last week.  I am like a little kid in a candy store when I go there.  I could probably blow our savings in one visit.  The produce and meat, in particular, are outstanding.  I get even more satisfaction shopping there now, knowing I’m feeding this food to my little one.  When we got home from shopping, I was putting away the groceries and made an interesting discovery.  I had Progresso Plain Bread Crumbs in my pantry, and the can was still about 3/4 full.  I hadn’t realized I still had that much, so I had purchased a can at Whole Foods as well.  I decided to compare the two.  The price was about a $.50 difference, I think, but let me enlighten you on the difference in the ingredients.  No, I’m not making this up…

Whole Foods 365 Brand, Plain Breadcrumbs – Ingredients: Unbleached wheat flour, salt, dried yeast.

Progresso Brand, Plain Breadcrumbs – Ingredients: Bread Crumbs (Enriched flour [wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid], high fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, partially hydrogenated vegetable oil [soybean and/or cottonseed and/or corn and/or canola], water, salt. Contains 2% or less of: yeast, honey, molasses, sugar, wheat gluten, whey, soy flour, whole wheat flour, rye flour, corn flour, oat bran, corn meal, rice flour, potato flour, butter, dough conditioners [mono- and diglycerides, sodium and/or calcium stearoyl lactylate, soy lecithin, calcium carbonate], yeast nutrients [ammonium sulfate, calcium sulfate, monocalcium phosphate], vinegar, nonfat milk, buttermilk, lactic acid, calcium propionate and potassium sorbate [preservatives], sesame seeds), oat flour, sunflower seeds, egg.

Does that list scare you like it does me?!  We have a friend who is a nutritionist, and he says ‘Don’t eat anything that lists ingredients you can’t pronounce!’  I think there were about 50 of those on this can! SHEESH!

This is probably a boring post to most people, but I am really wanting to feed the best to my family.  Sorry, Progresso, you don’t make the cut.

One thought on “One (of many) reasons I love Whole Foods Market

  1. kari b says:

    AGREED! We abide by the same principal. I think people think i’m crazy at the grocery store b/c i’ll stand there (I don’t go with kids anymore) looking at the label and sometimes give it a really horrible look and squint my eyes and shake my head then return it to the shelf and walk away. I just want to know who gives these kinds of products the “ok, you can sell this” stamp!

Leave a Reply

