Pressure. Patience. Sacrifice.

We traveled to Norman, Oklahoma this past weekend for a family reunion on Jason’s side. As Jason was packing up the car to go home, I sat in the hotel room half-way watching Noah play and the other half watching one of those TLC home-makeover shows.  The show was about two different couples who were each remodeling one room in their home.  The first couple would be married soon and were redoing the kitchen in the home they had just purchased.  The second couple was getting divorced, and the woman was wanting to redo the bedroom.  The show was presenting each of these couples as if they were both about to embark on a new and exciting chapter in life. (Hooray for the couple getting married!)  The couple that was divorcing talked about how happy they were and how they were just so ready to ‘get this thing done’ (speaking of the divorce, not the bedroom).  Not only did the woman paint a big ‘D’ on the back of her soon-to-be ex-husband’s shirt, but she also was admittedly flirtatious with the two men who were remodeling the room.  I can’t quite explain how much this show was making light of divorce; it nearly made me sick.

I completely understand that some people are in a marriage that is so dysfunctional, that they truly will be happier apart.  I get that.  I also believe that many people may later realize they weren’t as happy as they thought they would be, once all is said and done.

As we drove home, I thought a lot about the show.  I tried to think of all of my closest friends’ families to find ONE that did not include a divorce somewhere down the line.  I couldn’t think of one.  I thought about my family and, though there aren’t many divorces, I could still think of three pretty easily.

I think divorce ravages families.  I think sometimes there are moments when it helps but, all in all, it ravages.  I’m stunned at how prevalent it is.  I’m stunned at how much light this show took with such a heavy subject.  I wonder if the couple had kids; it was never mentioned.

After my ‘downer moment’ thinking about divorce, I turned my thoughts toward Jason. The good in all of this is that it made me truly realize the extent to which I should be grateful for him.  I thought about how hard it must be to be a husband, dad, leader of the family.  Three words came to mind: Pressure.  Patience.  Sacrifice. All of which I think Jason battles on a daily basis.  He is so faithful and so committed. I posted on my facebook today that ‘I think that, when all is done, Dads who have loved their families and stayed committed must have an amazing reward.’

Thank you, honey.  And thank you to all the husbands and dads who will finish strong. It will not go unnoticed.

3 thoughts on “Pressure. Patience. Sacrifice.

  1. heather says:

    Very well written Casey…and SO, SO true. 5 years and 2 kids later…I have never appreciated Nathan more. I have a feeling that appreciation will do nothing but grow over time.

  2. Kathryn says:

    You’re so right – divorce does completely ravage families. There is nothing normal abou tit and nothing that can truly make it right. I pray blessings on those husbands (and wives) that choose to stay and work through everything that is thrown at them!

  3. Constance says:

    Casey, thank you for your reflection and words of encouragement for the husbands, fathers, and providers for many families. Being a teenage girl can be a challenge BUT nothing like trying to be a man of God in a fallen world and now a country that his completely divided. I love you and thank you for being my sister in Christ…with your love along with the other sis-ta’s that I know…I am a stronger wife, mommy and friend! By the way…How To Be A Hero book is awesome…Jason and you will love chapter 11!!! (Yes, I skip around when I read!!!)

Leave a Reply

