The Good Stuff

Do you like country music?  I am sort-of a closet country fan.  (Mind you, it can’t be too twangy.)  Country music was very popular when I was in high school, and I loved it then, but I haven’t listened to it all that much since then.  For some reason I sometimes forget how much I like it.

When Jason & I were dating we went country dancing together almost every Thursday night.  We took an hour lesson and then danced for a couple of hours after that.  We think it was pretty romantic, and we actually got pretty good, if I do say so myself. 🙂  And I remember when Jason first played Kenny Chesney’s “The Good Stuff” for me, and I cried.  Yes, I’m sappy… I admit it.

A little while ago, Jason’s dad decided to get a new truck so he gave us his old one. Now when we drive it, it just seems right to listen to country music.  There’s nothing like driving that truck with the windows down on a cool evening listening to George Strait or Kenny Chesney (this sounds so funny coming from the city girl that I am… I have a feeling I’ll hear it from some of you). 🙂

In my life (and in my opinion) there is just something wholesome and sentimental about country music.  I know it’s not like that for everyone, but it is for me.  It takes me back, it makes me think, it makes me reminisce, it makes me grateful, it makes me cry, it makes me happy… I love it.

I drove the truck tonight and listened to Kenny Chesney (yes, with the windows down).  I am very fond of his song, “Never Gonna Feel That Way Again.”  Like I said, it made me think.  I thought about certain chapters of my life and how wonderful they were and how I would “never feel that way again”…..

“It was my life and it was fun
Another season of my life is done
Another race I’m glad I got to run
Another chapter of my life, it’s over
No I’m never gonna feel like that again
Time’s rushin’ by me like the wind
Never be as young as I was then
No I’m never gonna feel like that again”

 

But I also thought about THIS chapter and how sweet it is…

 

“It’s my life and it’s sure fun
Another season of my life’s begun
Another race I’m glad I get to run
Another chapter of my life I’m writin’
No I’m never gonna feel like this again
Time’s rushin’ by me like the wind
Gotta grab each moment that I can
Cause I’m never gonna feel like this again”

Truly I am grateful for the former chapters of my life and the memories I have. Time really is ‘rushin’ by me like the wind.’  And truly I am grateful for this new chapter and the joy it brings me every day.  Thank you, Lord, for this wonderful life you have given.

4 thoughts on “The Good Stuff

  1. Mary says:

    Proud of you, CITY. Love, Country

  2. Courtney says:

    Love it! Reminds me of us cruisin in the accord with the windows down, & the music blaring!!! 😉

  3. Moses says:

    City girl huh, well that you are, However, you are from Texas so everyone else in the country, in the world for that matter thinks Texans are a bunch of hicks. So go on and live up to that hick generalization in some form. Better a closet country girl than a closet christian. I find comfort in some of those songs. They express the way I feel better than many other genres can.

  4. Connie Con says:

    Oh, yes…I remember Country Fest Summer of 1997! I can’t believe I wore that swim suit!!!

Leave a Reply

