Just a random thought…

Recently my dad told me that a very well-known Christian leader made some stupid comment regarding the Democratic National Convention.  He heard it on the news. I was surprised to hear this person would’ve said this, so I did the research.  First of all, the one who was being blamed for making the statement wasn’t even the right person, and the one who actually made the comment was completely joking.  Ah, media.  You see, my dad saw this on TV.  You know, TV.  The place you go to receive the truth about everything.  The place you go to get all the correct information you need to make informed decisions on, well… everything.  The place you go to seek wisdom and understanding for what is good and right with the world.  I’m assuming you sense the sarcasm by now (not to mention my complete contempt for the media).  

 

I learned something great from this.  In all honesty, I was not happy that my dad would fully believe what the media says – without even flinching or asking himself if, possibly, the story wasn’t true.  So he, along with the newscasters, placed blame on a man who wasn’t even in the room when the comment was made. I happen to listen to MUCH of what this person says and what he believes and where he gets his ideas, and I have read his books.  Yes, he is a loud voice.  Yes, his boldness invites criticism.  But, from what I know of him, he is a man of honor and integrity and passion.  I respect him greatly.  I would never have the gall he does to stand up for what I believe in and receive the ridicule that he does.  So, in my view, no one has the right to show him this sort of disrespect.  Disagreement is one thing. Disrespect is another.

 

So… back to what I learned.  Media is a crock.  What was said about this man was completely untrue.  The way they portrayed him was false.  What matters is who he is at the end of the day.  And that is NOT my judgment call.  So I’m applying this to myself.  For instance, I can’t stand to listen to Bill Mahr.  If I wanted to be the most miserably negative person on the planet, I would listen to him every day.  BUT… I have no idea what he believes deeply or what he cares about deeply.  Who wrote his script?  How much of what he says is for ratings?  At the end of the day, in my humility, I can admit freely that I DON’T KNOW HIM.  Therefore, I need to keep my mouth shut and not pass judgment.  He doesn’t have to be my favorite person, but I have no right to pretend like I know or understand him.  I can disagree with statements he makes, yes.  But I need to be careful with my mouth.  Just as I wish the media would do.  I guess I’m challenging you to do the same.  Go about your life quietly, being a thoughtful and respectful person, not casting judgment on others.  I have to say, though it won’t be popular, that THIS is the life Jesus led and wants us to lead.  We are all horrible at it, but it is a great goal.  If you are a Christ-follower, like me, let us be respectful of others, caring, prayerful, and considerate… NOT mouthy and judgmental and known for our disrespect of other people.  Okay, off the soapbox for now. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Just a random thought…

  1. Mary says:

    I think that for you to be able to formulate any sentence about anything other than labor and delivery is pretty great! 🙂 Hang in there…not to much longer and little Noah will be here!

  2. Jamers says:

    It’s time for a new post, suki.

Leave a Reply

