Innocent as Doves

Jason and I went out for a date on Friday night. We planned to eat a nice dinner and rent a movie but, when we drove by the dollar theater, we decided to see what was playing. One of the movies showing was “Perfect Stranger.” I had seen the previews for it and wanted to see it (I always like a good suspense thriller). I missed it at the “normal” theater, so we decided to quickly make a run for the border and then catch the movie…

I can honestly say that I am sorely disappointed in myself for not walking out of this movie. There were probably about 10 moments when I felt compelled to leave and didn’t. I was truly hoping for a great suspense thriller. Edge of your seat. A few scenes that make you jump. A couple of great car chases. This movie was NONE of that. Aside from the fact that it had virtually no suspense element, it also had a terribly stupid plot. Aside from the stupid plot, it was filled with vulgarity (F-bombs all over the place). Aside from the vulgarity, it was extremely perverse and dark. Jason and I both walked away feeling ill.

The next morning all I could do was grab my Bible. I was thirsting for truth and wanting to read of grace, goodness, and purity. Ironically I was reading Philippians – “I count all things as loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.” Yes, I love to watch movies. Yes, it’s hard to give some of them up. Yes, movies can be great. But I learned a good lesson on Friday night: It is greater to know Christ. It wasn’t worth my time (no…it was a WASTE of my time) to see this movie. I will never see a movie without reading reviews first. AND if the reviews say it’s bad…I’m not going. Period. PLEASE, I plead with you. Do not see this movie. Here is one movie review site I found that seems very thorough: http://www.pluggedinonline.com. If you know of any others, please let me know.

Needless to say, I want to listen to my Savior and make this attempt to remain as innocent as a dove… “I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves.” Matthew 10:16

One thought on “Innocent as Doves

  1. Hey Casey! It’s Charla Dabney (now Jenkins)! I found your site through Julia’s and thought I would take a peek! I looked through some of your pictures…it’s great to “catch up” in a way. Anyway, I just wanted to say hello and please come visit my blog some time! I’m going to add you to my links if that’s okay with you. I love finding fellow bloggers! Take care!

Leave a Reply

